罗伯特·罗森伯格

1929年生于得克萨斯州阿瑟港
2008年卒于佛罗里达州卡帕帕

礼拜堂的忙乱

(摘自城市波旁家族系列)

1992

上釉铝板;水性漆和丝网印刷

如果按时间顺序来看劳森伯格的作品,就会发现有明显的系列划分,材料的类型和用法也有很大的变化。劳森伯格通常会用一个独特的名称来区别每个系列。作品的标题往往是古怪的,可能还会玩弄文字和韵律。有时候就是描述一个作品的某个元素;有时候,名称和作品之间也没有什么明显的联系。赫斯艺术收藏品中的每一件作品——即《结合》、《早期大量的埃及人》、《城市波旁王朝》和《基本规则》¬——¬¬都代表了罗森伯格的每个系列。

唐纳德·赫斯(Donald Hess)被罗森伯格的作品所吸引,“因为他具有一名艺术家的节操”。赫斯还说:“他的作品散发出罗森伯格对艺术创作和发现新的表达方式的激情。此外,他还谈到了他不断地寻找挑战,并为他与生俱来的物品布置能力感到惊讶,他的作品看起来轻松而富有诗意。罗森伯格是把复杂的事情简单化的大师”

帝国I

(来自《结合》系列)

1992

木头、自行车车轮、链条、砖和金属。

罗森伯格的艺术多样性体现在他无穷无尽的创意和材料中。他的简历同样五花八门: 他学习药剂学,当过海军神经精神病技师,为邦威特·泰勒和蒂芙尼设计过橱窗,设计过舞台布景,编排过舞蹈表演。此外,他还建立并资助了罗森伯格海外文化交流组织(ROCI),该组织致力于不同文化——即:独裁统治下的国家——之间的艺术交流。他拥有纽约大学、格林内尔学院和南佛罗里达大学的荣誉艺术博士学位。

他的探索性创作也在不断地演变,正如罗森伯格曾经解释的那样: “如果我做着我熟悉的事情,那么我会感到恼火。” 他曾经承认,他沉迷于过去,想要回收那些被搁置一旁,被遗忘的垃圾。在他看来,“所有的材料都有它自己的历史”,通过在审美意境中将“使用”与“废弃”相结合,他赋予这些形象和物体一种高度存在感,一种视觉诗意。他巧妙地将过去的事物结合起来,并将其作为后现代主义的纪念碑,从而来复活垃圾。他这样做,意在使粗鄙的事物变得高尚,让我们审视自己的浪费。简而言之,罗森伯格推崇并回收利用的,正是社会所鄙视的垃圾。

 罗马墙

1953

天花板和灯泡

1950

智利

1984

银明胶版法印像

 幕间休息

(来自《基本规则》系列)

1996

画纸;平版印刷第12/44版

+

Robert Rauschenberg

Born 1929, Port Arthur, Texas
Died 2008, Captiva, Florida

Tabernacle Fuss

(from the series Urban Bourbons)

1992

Acrylic paint and silkscreen on enameled aluminum panels

If one looks at Rauschenberg’s work chronologically, distinct series are apparent where the types and usage of materials may drastically change.  Rauschenberg typically sets each series apart with a unique name.  Work titles are often whimsical and may play on words and rhyme.  Sometimes they describe an element of a given work; sometimes they bear no apparent relation.  Each work in the Hess Art Collection is an example from a distinct Rauschenberg series, i.e., The Combines; Early Egyptian, Gluts; The Urban Bourbons and Ground Rules.

Donald Hess was drawn to Rauschenberg “because of his tremendous integrity as an artist.”  Hess continues, “His work exudes the passion Rauschenberg felt for making art and discovering new modes of expression.  Furthermore, he related to his incessant search for a challenge and was amazed by his innate ability to arrange ordinary objects in a way that looks so effortless and poetic. Rauschenberg was a master at making the complicated simple.”

Empire I

(from the Combines series)

1992

Wood, bicycle wheel, chain, bricks, and metal.

Rauschenberg’s artistic diversity is manifest in his seemingly bottomless reservoir of ideas and materials. His résumé is equally as multifarious: He studied pharmacy, worked as a naval neuro-psychiatric technician, dressed windows for Bonwitt Teller and Tiffany’s, designed stage sets, and choreographed dance performances.  Moreover, he established and funded the Rauschenberg Overseas Cultural Interchange (ROCI) an organization that pursues artistic discourse between disparate cultures, i.e., countries under dictatorships.  He held honorary doctorates in art from New York University, Grinnell College & the University of South Florida.

His explorative work is in a constant state of evolution; as Rauschenberg once explained: “if I’m doing anything too familiar it aggravates me”.  He is once admitted to being obsessed with the past and the recycling of its cast aside and forgotten refuse.   In his view, “All material has its own history” and by using the combined scars of use and disuse in an aesthetic context he imbued these images and objects with a heightened existence, a sort of visual poetry.  His deftly composed amalgams contextually arrange parts of the past as post-modern monuments to resurrected trash.  In so doing he ennobles the ignoble and presents us with an aggrandized look at our waste. Plainly put, what society contemns as garbage, Rauschenberg reveres and recycles.

 Rome Wall

1953

Ceiling and Light Bulb

1950

Chile

1984

Gelatin silver prints

 Intermission

(from the Ground Rules series)

1996

Lithograph on paper.  Edition 12/44

We are open Friday, Saturday & Sundays by reservations only.
Please call 707-320-9221 for reservation inquires.
Health Precautions: Our Promise, Your Promise
+